"WOMEN OF ACTION"... El poder esta dentro de ti!!!

WOMEN OF ACTION


Windsor. ON, Canada

1-289-682-5580
ana_m_vasquez@hotmail.com

COUNCILLOR 10 WARD MARIA PEARSON

24.11.2014 12:43

COUNCILLOR 10 WARD MARIA PEARSON

Maria Pearson is a Woman of Action, born in this country, but of immigrant parents. She represents the true example of

Citizen Participation in her community. Thank you for opening your doors and responding simply and humbly to the concerns of

our zine.

Full name:

Maria
Pearson.

Professions:

I have had many jobs in the course of my life. I started selling greeting  cards and gifts from a catalogue going door to door at

the age of 13. When I turned 16 I became a sales clerk working in The Stoney Creek Dairy Variety Store in Westdale, from

there I went to Wells Pharmacy and continued to be a sales clerk and snack bar clerk. I joined the Big V Pharmacy chain while

in high school and was trained and became a Pharmacist Assistant. I did  this through my years of high school and college.  I

attended Mohawk College Legal Secretarial where I completed two college years in one and became a Legal Secretary being

hired immediately after graduating. I worked  for various lawyers over 11 years, retiring at that point to stay home and raise our

children. In 1991 I was approached to run for Stoney Creek Council. My children were 6 and 3 and I was interested in my

community and what was happening around me. I  ran and won and became the Ward 3 Councillor until 2000. I ran again in

2003 for the new City of Hamilton Ward 10. [She is re-elected to ward 10, in 2014 election].


You or your family have any immigrant ancestry influence? (Has your family experienced
immigration?)

Yes, my parents are both of Italian decent. They met and married here in Hamilton.


How would you define a Woman of Action?

I believe I am a woman of action and it means women who take a sincere and passionate concern for people, their

surroundings, etc.


What is Citizen Participation?

Citizen Participation to me is having citizens who take a genuine interest is various aspects of the City and want to participate

in having good decisions made to move the city forward in a positive manner. I encourage all sectors of the population to get

involved. I believe that everyone has valuable input that can help if we all work together.


 Approximately how long have you been working as a political leader in the community and what have you done to

(persist in a male dominated field?) prevail in an area thathas almost always been led by male

I have been in the political arena 21 years, having been involved in major development proposals and capital projects in the

ward over the years. I have been able to see over $50 Million in capital being spent on roads, purchase of buildings for

community use, upgrades to parks and play equipment etc. Over the last 10 years. A lot of these projects are certainly in a

male oriented environment, but I am proud to have been a part of a lot of great projects working with contractors, foreman, and

workers and never feeling intimidated as a woman. I have always been  able to hold my ground and have a good grasp of the

needs of the community and making sure each project is done efficiently.


 What advice would you give to women and particularly to immigrant women?

My message to women, especially immigrant women, would be to continue to promote your ideas, get involved, and

communicate with your elected officials.


Could you briefly list the main functions of a Council?

The main functions of Council is to approve various committee recommendations regarding planning and development issues,

culture and recreation, public works, emergency and community services, audit and finance, board of health, etc. Council

ratifies many by-laws and policies to make Hamilton a better place to live.